About Us
herb h 120        

Faculty of Medical Sciences in Zabrze

     godlo h 120    


Before 1971, the School of Medicine with the Division of Dentistry in Zabrze (formerly the School of Medicine and the Department of Dentistry) was the only faculty of the Silesian University of Medicine (formerly Silesian Academy of Medicine). Established in 1948 it consequently performed as the fundamental body of other schools.

foto1 zab

The origin of the School dates back to 1946 when the Citizens’ Committee for Preparation of the Silesian Social Academy of Medicine made its first attempt to establish such school in Upper Silesia. Discussions held with General Jerzy Ziętek – the Vice-voivode of Silesia, assumed education of personnel for the primary health care (provided on social insurance basis), treatment of occupational diseases and launching the preventive programmes. The scientific and teaching background was supposed to be Polish School of Medicine, University of Edinburgh, Scotland and the equipment was to be supplied by Paderewski Hospital, also from Edinburgh, and financed by Paderewski Testimonial Foundation.

Future location would have been Rokitnica and Bytom while the organizational efforts were entrusted to Professor Antoni Tomasz Jurasz, MD PhD (1882-1961), founder of the School in Edinburgh. Soon after, in 1947, the project was cancelled. Changes of the political systems forced in Poland made the Foundation and Prof. Jurasz himself, withdraw from the challenge. Neither did the authorities approve of the idea, interested only in takeover of the equipment and promoting, instead of the Academy, establishment of an Institute providing specialist training programmes for the physicians.

Nevertheless, by ordinance of the 20th March, 1948, the Council of Ministers established the Medical Academy in Bytom, acting as a graduate school with a Department of Medicine including within its structures the Division of Dentistry. The first dean wad Prof. Tadeusz Pawlikowski, MD PhD (1904-1985), a  the vice-dean – Prof. Mieczysław Jankowski MD PhD (1896 - 1978).

Today (the 24th term of office, 2016-2020), the position of the Dean is held by Prof. Maciej Misiołek, MD PhD., and the Vice-Deans are Alicja Grzanka, MD PhD, Prof. Sławomir Kasperczyk, MD PhD and Prof. Jacek Kasperski, MD PhD.


The School of Medicine with the Division of Dentistry in Zabrze offers undergraduate programmes for English speaking students at the faculty of medical dentistry. The studies comprise 10 semesters and include theoretical, pre-clinical and clinical courses. The syllabus includes also a summer holiday internship. The programme has been designed to meet all the valid teaching standards. A student is awarded the professional title of a dentist.

The School of Medicine with the Division of Dentistry in Zabrze offers undergraduate programmes to Polish speaking students at the faculties of medicine, dentistry and medical rescue.

In the academic year 2018/2019 the School of Medicine with the Division of Dentistry in Zabrze is attended by almost 2 400 students, including 1 497 students of medicine, 700 students of dentistry and 133 students of medical rescue.

Until the academic year 2017/2018 the number of our School graduates reached 8 578 physicians,  6 297 dentists and 347 paramedics.

The faculties of medicine and dentistry have been accredited by Polish Accreditation Committee (Resolution No. 414/2017 of the 7th September, 2017 and Resolution No. 415/2017 of the 7th September, 2017).

Teaching and Scientific Resources

At present, the School comprises 43 Chairs and 4 independent bodies (clinical departments and wards) in Zabrze, Bytom, Katowice, Sosnowiec and Tarnowskie Góry, as well as the Department of Doctoral Studies, the Department of Foreign Languages and the Department of Postgraduate Studies.

The academic staff includes 384 teachers, among those 52 professors, 3 extraordinary professors of the Silesian University of Medicine and 60 MD PhDs

S5 Box



You need to enable user registration from User Manager/Options in the backend of Joomla before this module will activate.